Welcome to the National Economics Challenge!

The National Economics Challenge (NEC) is the nation’s most prestigious high school economics competition. Each year, over 10,500 students across the U.S. participate in the competition. The Challenge recognizes exceptional high school students for their knowledge of economic principles and their ability to apply problem-solving and critical-thinking skills to real-world events.

The Competitions

Competitions are held at the State, National Semi-Final, and National Final levels for high school students in two divisions:

Keep Me Posted!

Sign up to receive the latest news about the 2017 National Economics Challenge

Sign Up
Save the Date

Download important information about the 2017 National Economics Challenge



State winners advance to the National Semi-Finals. From there, the top four highest scoring teams in the two divisions are selected to attend the National Finals in New York City for a three-day all-expenses-paid trip and celebration to compete for top awards and honors*:

NEC Champion Medal - $1,000
NEC Second Place Medal - $500
NEC Third Place Medal - $250
NEC Fourth Place Medal - $200

*In total, more than $20K in prizes will be awarded at the National Economics Challenge in 2017.

2017 Sponsors


Investopedia is the world’s leading online source of financial content, with more than 25 million unique visitors and 78 million page views each month. Powered by a team of data scientists and financial experts, Investopedia offers timely, trusted and actionable financial information for every investor, from early investors to financial advisors to high net worth individuals.

In addition to the awards listed above, CEE will be presenting The Russell Glass Individual Achievement Award to the top Adam Smith Division scholar for best individual achievement based on his/her combined test score (Round 1-3) and overall presentation skills.

Do you have what it takes?

Watch the video to see if your team has what it takes to make it to the 2017 National Economics ChallengeSM Finals.

Congratulations to the 2016 Champions!

(L-R) Lexington High School, Massachusetts, David Ricardo Division: Bill Cole, Jeb Jacob, Jeffrey Zhu, Ryan Leung, Mackenzie Martin, CEE’s CEO Nan J. Morrison, CNBC’s Senior Economics Reporter Steve Liesman, and Bellaire High School, Texas, Adam Smith Division: Mike Clark Liana Wang, Suneal Vemuri, Antony Yun, Amy Fan

Rank Adam Smith division Rank David Ricardo Division
Second Mounds View High School, Minnesota Second West Windsor Plainsboro High School North, New Jersey
Third Choate Rosemary Hall, Connecticut Third Carmel High School, Indiana
Fourth Carmel High School, Indiana Fourth Upper Dublin High School, Pennsylvania



Congratulations to all the finalist for beating out more than 10,000 students to make it to the finals in NYC. We hope to see you next year at the 2017 National Economics Challenge!


Also, we’d like to thank┬áthe Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta, the Federal Reserve Bank of New York and, CEO William C. Dudley for their involvement in the Challenge.

More from the CEE